Assault charges can potentially ruin your life with the consequences that comes with them. However, the penalties can be minimized if you seek the legal representation of an experienced lawyer.
Assault Charges in New Jersey
Being charged with an assault in the state of New Jersey is a serious offense. If you find yourself being charged with an assault, know full well that I have handled many, many of these cases in the municipal court as well as in the superior court. These are serious charges; however, there are strategies that we can employ to help you through these trying times, so give me a call so we can discuss your matter.
Assault Charges for Aggravated Assault
An aggravated assault in the state of New Jersey usually means that there was some additional injury, or it’s based on the person for which the alleged assault took place on. Very often you’ll see an aggravated assault charge for someone who had allegedly assaulted a police officer. These, of course, are coupled with resisting arrest charges and other charges usually stemming from that arrest. They are very serious and indictable charges. I have handled cases like this in the past successfully and satisfactorily, so if you have had those types of charges, feel free to call my number.
Assault Charges Penalties in New Jersey
The jail time range is actually up to six months. You can wind up with a period of probation, and a fine of up to $1,000. There are several assessments which are monetary amounts that ranges from $100.00, $75.00, court costs, surcharges, that can add up to another few hundred dollars. Obviously the most serious are the six months in jail and even probation can be quite burdensome.
If you have been arrested for assault charges, please call New Jersey criminal defense lawyer Carl Spector. Let his experience work for you.