Have you been arrested and charged with DWI? You may be searching for the DWI basics including penalties, BAC limits, etc. Any questions you have, our lawyers will be happy to answer.
DWI Basics | Amount of Drinks One Can Have Before Driving
As an experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney I am often asked by college students how many drinks they can legally have before driving. If you’re a college student, and you’re at a college party, and you’re consuming alcohol, and you’re under the drinking age – it means that you’re not 21 or more – you shouldn’t be consuming alcohol because there’s a zero tolerance for alcohol consumption and driving.
If you’re 21 and above, and you’re consuming alcohol, and you want to know how many drinks you can have before driving, it’s really determined upon your metabolism. If you had one drink and your metabolism throws off a blood alcohol content that hits the legal limit and your standard field sobriety tests are poor, you’re going to be successfully convicted of a DWI, which is not something that you want. Like anything else, your metabolism will have a great effect on what your blood alcohol content is if you drink before driving.
DWI Basics | How Long a DWI Will Stay on Your Record
As an experienced DWI Attorney I often field questions from college students wondering how long their DWI will be on their record. Let’s say you’re a student at William Paterson University here in New Jersey, and you’ve gotten a DWI. You wound up going through the system, and you wound up pleading guilty or being found guilty after trial.
The bad news is that that does not go away. It’ll stay on your driving abstract, which is your driving history, for the term that you’re driving, for as long as you drive. Even if you go out of state and get a new license, they could find that old DWI. However, within 10 years of your conviction, that DWI can be used to enhance any penalties you get in this or most any other state. You have to be careful about a DWI that’s on your record here in New Jersey or any other state.
DWI Basics | Vehicles Getting Impounded Following a DWI
As an experienced New Jersey DWI Attorney I will get the occasional situation where a college student gets a DWI in a car that is not theirs, and the car winds up getting impounded. If you’re a college student at Fairleigh Dickinson University either the Teaneck campus or the Madison campus and you’ve been arrested for a DWI, you already know that the car that you were operating will be impounded because it already has been. The law requires that the car be impounded for at least 12 hours. The individual who owns that car will get the car back, they will just have to contact the police department and make arrangements and pay the poundage or the storage fee for the overnight parking fee that will be paid to the towing company. To get fierce legal representation, please call our New Jersey DWI lawyer today for a free consultation.