Interviewer: Can you explain what might occur if you have two, three or more offenses? How serious is the situation for multiple offenses?
Carl: A second offense will entail a fine of $750.00. You could also be looking at imprisonment in the county jail for up to five days. That’s actually become quite a highly contested issue in the state of New Jersey. Many judges have allowed those five days to be served in the Sheriff’s Labor Assistance Program, which essentially allows for the person helping out in the Sheriff’s Department, possibly cleaning the roads and duties of that nature.
There have been some recent cases that stipulated that that penalty of up to five days imprisonment must actually be served in jail, not in an outside program. When you are facing a second offense, you’re looking at imprisonment and a driver’s license suspension.
A conviction on a third offense carries a fine of $1,000.00 and imprisonment in the county jail for ten days.
Interviewer: Do they have what called a “Habitual Traffic Offender” status in New Jersey?
Carl: They do, but that more under the jurisdiction of the Motor Vehicle Commission. The court simply classifies it as first, second and third offenses. The license suspension for a third offense is up to one year.
Interviewer: You mentioned that the Department of Motor Vehicles can become involved on even the first offense, so it seems guaranteed that they will be involved when you’ve had multiple offenses, is that correct?
Carl: Yes, that is right. They may enhance the penalties.