New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer Discusses Assault Penalties
What is the range of penalties you could face for an assault conviction in New Jersey?
The jail time range is actually up to six months. You can wind up with a period of probation, and a fine of up to $1,000. There are several assessments which are monetary amounts that ranges from $100.00, $75.00, court costs, surcharges, that can add up to another few hundred dollars. Obviously the most serious are the six months in jail and even probation can be quite burdensome.
Are there anger management or rehabilitation classes the convicted person may be required to take?
What I am trying to do when I represent somebody as an experienced New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer who is charged with a simple assault on a domestic violence issue is I try to find out what the issues are. As a New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer I research what the family issues are and whether or not this is a family that is willing to stay together and work it out and no one will get hurt. I’m finding that a lot of the courts, some of the prosecutors, are willing to listen when it comes to what it is that the family needs.
In some situations, I’m advising my clients as a New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer who are charged with these offenses that the prosecutors and/or the judges are going to recommend some type of anger management or what’s called an “alternative to violence program.” That could be as part of a plea bargain on certain occasions. I’ve handled that before and represented people who they have successfully complete anger management or alternatives to violence programs, to try to get their cases dismissed if they demonstrated successful completion.
Do Victims Of Domestic Abuse Try To Have Their Cases Dismissed?
It’s very common that the alleged victim will come in, sometimes even into my office, and speak to me about that they don’t want to go forward on the case. Then I would present that information to the prosecutor. As a New Jersey Domestic Violence Lawyer I would recommend to that person that they should come to court on their own, bring identification so the prosecutor can verify who they are and they are the person who was involved and to have an independent and separate conversation with the prosecutor.
If the prosecutor is satisfied, at that point, that the alleged victim does not want to go forward, then in court the alleged victim could be questioned by the judge and that would lead to the judge asking specific questions of the victim on whether or not they wish to go forward with the charges or not.
Have you been arrested or charged with Assault in New Jersey? The penalties can be severe, so don’t face them alone. Contact New Jersey Domestic Violence Attorney Carl Spector for a free confidential consultation. We are available to help you 24 hours a day. Let our experience work for you!