New Jersey DUI Lawyer Discusses DWI Penalties
Top Tier Defense in New Jersey
A DWI in the state of New Jersey is a traffic infraction and is not a crime. If you are charged with DWI in New Jersey you will be facing a driver’s license suspension. When your license is suspended for a DWI, you could be without your own transportation for up to seven months.
License Suspension and Fines
The maximum for a first offense is a twelve-month suspension. In New Jersey, the fines start at around $350, but can rise above $750 at the end of the trial. You will be charged a $1,000 motor vehicle assessment for three years and be required to take driving school which could reach a requirement of up to 48 hours.
Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IIDs)
An ignition interlock device is a device that has to be installed in your vehicle. You have to blow into this device to turn on the engine. It measures whether or not you have any alcohol in your system. In the state of New Jersey, ignition interlock is a requirement for a blood alcohol level of .15 or more.