New Jersey DUI Lawyer Discusses Receiving a Second and Third DWI
As an experienced New Jersey DUI Lawyer , I am often asked about the penalties about receiving a second or third DWI. What’s important to understand about a DWI second offense in New Jersey is that if you are found guilty or plead guilty, there is jail time involved, a minimum of 2 days, which can be served in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, or as much as 90 days.
In New Jersey, a third-offense DWI or even a subsequent DWI after a third offense is still a traffic infraction. However, if you’re found guilty or plead guilty to a third offense or subsequent offense DWI in the state of New Jersey jail time is also required. The jail time is 180 days, which is 6 months, 90 days of which, 3 months, can be served in a residential treatment facility, but those arrangements must be made before the case is resolved.
Have you been charged with a second or third DWI offense? Contact experienced New Jersey DUI Lawyer Carl Spector to defend your freedom.