New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer on Penalties for Driving With a Suspended License
If you are found guilty of violating statute 39:3-40, for a first offense, the minimum mandatory fine is $500.00. That is going to be issued from the court. There will also be a three-year surcharge, which the Motor Vehicle Commission is going to impose, of $250.00, per year, payable each year. Keep in mind; these fines only apply to a FIRST offense.
If you are found guilty, you are looking at $1250.00, and you are also looking at paying court costs. Those may come to about $1260.00. There is also the possibility of the judge imposing a suspension of your driving privileges of up to six months. The Department of Motor Vehicles can still suspend your license administratively, which also can become very problematic as well.
If you’ve been accused of Driving With a Suspended License in New Jersey, contact experienced New Jersey Traffic Violation Lawyer Carl Spector for a free confidential consultation.